Best Student Presentation Award

Supported by

Congratulations to the MMM 2020 Best Student Presentation Award Winner!

Felix Schreiber, Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz, Germany 
M1-02 Concurrent magneto-optical imaging and magneto-transport readout of electrical switching of insulating antiferromagnetic thin films 

Congratulations to the MMM 2020 Best Student Presentation Award Finalists!

César González-Ruano, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
L2-09   Superconductivity-induced change in magnetic anisotropy in epitaxial ferromagnet-superconductor hybrids with spin-orbit interaction

Jiahao Han, MIT, USA
G1-12  Birefringence-like spin transport via linearly polarized antiferromagnetic magnons 

Jagannath Jena, Max Planck Institute, Halle, Germany
O3-12  Observation of opposite topological charges in single D2d Heusler compound 

Harry Waring, The University of Manchester, UK  
M1-12 Zero Field Optic Mode Beyond 20 GHz in a Synthetic Antiferromagnet

Click here to learn more about the winner and  finalists

This award recognizes and encourages excellence in graduate studies in the field of magnetism. There will be a US$1,000 one-year fellowship for the winner and US$250 one-year fellowship for the remaining finalists. Conference attendees are encouraged to attend the talks and support these young scientists.


  • The nominee must be a full time graduate student expecting to graduate within one year of the Conference. Postdoctoral fellows, undergraduates or non-students are not eligible.
  • The student's area of research may either be theoretical or experimental in any of the general technical and scientific areas normally presented as part of the Conference.
  • The student's regularly submitted abstract must have been accepted as an oral presentation through the standard abstract review process by the Conference Program Committee as an oral presentation, and the student must present the work at the Conference.

Application Procedure

  • Students must submit an abstract to the Conference according to the standard submission guidelines and deadlines as outlined under Abstract Submissions. DO NOT identify the abstract as part of the student award competition in the text of the abstract. The Conference abstract deadline is July 5, 2020.
  • Students must also submit an extended 2-page abstract of their presentation, including the already submitted abstract number, plus a short (300 words or less) explanation of their contribution to the work described and its significance by the submission deadline of July 5, 2020.
  • Applications MUST be submitted via email as .pdf attachments. The email containing the student award application must have a subject line that reads "STUDENT AWARD".
  • Submit applications via email to the 2020 MMM Conference Awards Chair at

Congratulations to the winner and finalists at the 2019 MMM Conference!

Efficient Magnetization Switching and Dzyaloshinskii-Moriya Interaction in WTe2/ferromagnet Heterostructures, Shuuyuan Shi, National University of Singapore
Ferrimagnetic Domain Wall Dynamics Driven by Spin Orbit Torques Revealed by In-Plane Fields through the Compensation Points in GdFeCo, Eloi Haltz, Laboratoire de Physique des Solides
Surface Acoustic Wave Induced DC Spin Current in Spin-Orbit Heterostructures, Takuya Kawada, The University of Tokyo
Stimulated, Continuous, and Wave Vector Selective Magnon Excitation using Rapid Demagnetization from High Repetition Rate Femtosecond Laser Pulse Trains, Shreyas Muralidhar, University of Gothenburg
Tunable Long-Term and Short-Term Memories in a Single Magnetic Tunnel Junction Based Synapse, Nitin Prasad, University of Texas at Austin